Unions and politicians demand suspension of Scotrail franchising process

01 October 2014

The following statement has been signed by the listed MP’s, MSP’s and Trade Unions in respect of both the Scotrail main franchise and the Caledonian Sleeper Service in light of the new devolution settlement

Statement on Scotland’s powers over rail passenger service:

We welcome that as part of the new devolution settlement for the Scottish people there are commitments to devolved responsibility on rail so the Scottish Government can decide whether it wishes to run Scotrail services in the public sector. In the words of Gordon Brown contained in his post referendum speech “enforced rail privatisation will be no more”.

We are concerned however that under the current tendering process the winning bidder for the Scotrail franchise is to be notified in October 2014 and the franchise, to start in April 2015, will be ten years in length. This will mean Scotland’s rail passenger services will be privatised for the next decade and will make the promises on rail powers meaningless.

We further note that legally the Scottish Government can vary, suspend or terminate the Scotrail tendering process at any time up to the notification of the successful bidder. We therefore urge the Scottish Government to withhold notifying a successful bidder and instead allow the franchise to continue until later in 2015 when the new Scottish Act will be implemented and the Scottish Government will have the power to power to run Scotrail services in the public sector.

We also urge the Scottish Government to use these new developments to review the decision to notify the winning bidder for the Caledonian Sleeper franchise, which is also due to start in April 2015.

Mick Cash RMT General Secretary

Manuel Cortes, TSSA General Secretary

Mick Whelan, ASLEF General Secretary

James Kelly MSP (Labour Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Capital Investment and Infrastructure)

Mark Griffin MSP (Labour Shadow Minister for Transport and Veterans)

Katy Clark MP

Richard Baker MSP

Jayne Baxter MSP

Claudia Beamish MSP

Michael Connarty MP

Ian Davidson MP

Brian Donohoe MP

Neil Findlay MSP

Sheila Gilmore MP

Hugh Henry MSP

James Kelly MSP

Jim McGovern MP

Ian McKenzie MP

Michael McCann MSP

Graeme Morrice MP

Sandra Osborne MP

Elaine Smith MSP

Back »

By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information please refer to ASLEF’s Privacy Policy